Eighth Annual Doomie Awards Nominations Poll!

As has been the custom for the last seven years, early January signals the time for the Doomies, where the Blog votes on and bestows honors to the best and worst of professional wrestling in 2021.

This year voting will be different than previous years.  There will be a 10 day period of nominations for all categories, which will be tabulated with the traditional formula of a first place vote getting 5 points, a second place vote 3 points, and a third place vote 1 point.  After tabulating nominations, the top 5 will then be moved to a winner take all voting process on a Google Form where people will vote for one of the nominees.  That voting process will take a week.  The new process will a few extra days, but should produce a greater consensus around a winner, something that has not happened in some categories over the years.

Another change is that there will be a “Men’s Wrestler of the Year” category.  There will still be an overall category of “Wrestler of the Year,” which can include votes for men’s and women’s wrestlers.  Previous Wrestler of the Year winners will be grandfathered in as winners of the “Men’s Wrestler of the Year” category.

And again, a reminder that “Commenter of the Year” is not a writer award but for any of your favorite people to talk to in the comments section of the Blog.  Another reminder that traditionally if a company does a “brand split” that the brands are considered separate promotions.

Additional voting information is included after a brief history of the awards:

Wrestler of the Year

Men’s Wrestler of the Year

2020-Jon Moxley
2019-Chris Jericho
2018-Kenny Omega
2017-AJ Styles
2016-AJ Styles
2015-Kevin Owens
2014-Daniel Bryan

Women’s Wrestler of the Year

2019-Becky Lynch
2018-Becky Lynch
2014-AJ Lee

Worst Wrestler of the Year

2020-Nia Jax
2019-Shane McMahon & Baron Corbin (tie)
2018-Nia Jax
2017-Jinder Mahal
2016-Titus O’Neil

Tag Team of the Year

2020-Kenny Omega & Hangman Page
2019-The Lucha Brothers
2018-The Young Bucks
2017-The Usos
2016-The Revival
2015-The New Day
2014-The Usos

Feud of the Year

2020-Roman Reigns vs. Jey Uso
2019-Chris Jericho vs. Cody Rhodes
2018-Johnny Gargano vs. Tommaso Ciampa
2017-Kazuchika Okada vs. Kenny Omega
2016-AJ Styles vs. John Cena
2015-Kevin Owens vs. John Cena
2014-Daniel Bryan vs. The Authority

Match of the Year

2020-Kenny Omega & Hangman Page vs. The Young Bucks (AEW:  Revolution)
2019-Cody Rhodes vs. Dustin Rhodes (AEW: Double or Nothing)
2018-Kenny Omega vs. Kazuchika Okada (NJPW Dominion)
2017-Kazuchika Okada vs. Kenny Omega (NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 11)
2016-The Revival vs. DIY (NXT: Toronto)
2015-Bayley vs. Sasha Banks (NXT: Brooklyn)
2014-Daniel Bryan vs. Triple H (WrestleMania XXX)

Best Commentator

2020-Tony Schiavone
2019-Tony Schiavone

Worst Commentator

2020-Michael Cole
2019-Corey Graves

Best Supercard

2020-AEW:  Revolution
2019-NXT Takeover: New York
2018-NXT Takeover: New Orleans
2017-NXT Takeover: Wargames
2016-NXT: Takeover: Dallas
2015-WrestleMania 31
2014-WrestleMania XXX

Worst Supercard

2020-WWE Super ShowDown
2019-WWE: Hell in a Cell
2018-WWE Crown Jewel
2017-WWE Battleground
2016-WrestleMania 32
2015-The Royal Rumble
2014-Tables, Ladders, Chairs & Stairs

Moment of the Year

2020-Edge Returns at the Royal Rumble
2019-Kofi Kingston Wins the WWE Championship at WrestleMania 35
2018-Becky Lynch’s Bloody Face via RAW Invasion
2017-The Hardy Boyz Return at WrestleMania 33
2016-AJ Styles Debuts at the Royal Rumble
2015-Seth Rollins Cashes in Money in the Bank at WrestleMania
2014-Daniel Bryan Wins the WWE Title at WrestleMania XXX

Worst Moment of the Year

2020-Matt Hardy’s Injury vs. Sammy Guevara
2019-Hell in a Cell Match Between the Fiend and Seth Rollins Ends in a Disqualification
2018-Roman Reigns Announces that he has Cancer
2017-The House of Horrors Match
2016-The Old Day
2015-Stephanie McMahon Slapping Talent Without Comeuppance
2014-Dean Ambrose Loses Due to a Hologram at Hell in a Cell

Promotion of the Year

2017-New Japan
2014-New Japan

TV Show of the Year

2020-AEW:  Dynamite
2019-WWE NXT
2018-WWE NXT
2017-WWE NXT
2016-Smackdown Live!
2015-WWE NXT
2014-WWE NXT

Most Improved Wrestler

2020-Roman Reigns
2019-Rhea Ripley
2018-Velveteen Dream
2017-Braun Strowman
2016-The Miz
2015-Big E.

Biggest Wrestling News Story

2020-COVID-19 Pandemic Changes Wrestling
2019-AEW Signs National TV Deal with TNT
2018-Roman Reigns Forfeits WWE Title Due to Leukemia
2017-Chris Jericho Appears in New Japan
2016-WWE Splits the Brands Again
2015-WWE Cuts Ties with Hulk Hogan Over Racist Comments
2014-CM Punks Walks Out of the WWE

Blog Column of the Year

2020-Observer Flashbacks (Scott Keith)
2019-Pay-Per-View Rants (Scott Keith)
2018-Observer Flashbacks (Scott Keith)
2017-Observer Flashbacks (Scott Keith)
2016-Observer Flashbacks (Scott Keith)
2015-Smark Rants (Scott Keith)
2014-Smark Rants/Scott Sez (Scott Keith)

Blog Writer of the Year (Scott Keith Not Eligible):

2020-Thomas Hall
2019-Thomas Hall

Blog Commenter of the Year

2020-Lawrence Talbot
2018-Brian Bayless
2016-Brian Bayless
2014-Brian Bayless

Most Loved Blog Topic

2019-AEW Dead By ___________
2018-Baconman’s 1028K TV Network Thread
2017-Observer Recaps
2016-Observer Recaps
2015-How Terrible Roman Reigns Push Has Been
2014-WWE Network Failures & Ideas

Worst Blog Topic

2020-American Politics
2019-Politics Topics
2018-Political Topics (including Donald Trump-related news)
2017-Donald Trump Discussions
2016-Roman Reigns in a Bad Wrestler
2015-The Roman Reigns Push
2014-CM Punk Leaving WWE


For each category, identify and number up to THREE choices, with your first being what you most want to see win and third being your third-best choice.  The way awards will be determined is that the ranking of each choice will have a point value.  A first place vote will count for 5 points, a second place vote for 3 points, and a third place vote for 1 point.  The recipient of the most points will win the award.  When voting please include the heading of the category you are voting for and then put 1-(Insert choice), 2-(Insert choice), etc.  Note that you do not have to include three choices for each category if you do not want to but it is encouraged.  You also do not have to vote for every category.

E-mail your votes to me at [email protected] (or you can post your votes as a post below).  I will confirm that I have received your vote via a return e-mail within 48 hours of you sending it (or giving a comment on your post).  The deadline for voting will be midnight next Sunday (January 16).  I will then assemble the Google Form for the final round of voting and will post it on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.

The categories for this year’s Doomie Awards:

*Wrestler of the Year
*Men’s Wrestler of the Year
*Women’s Wrestler of the Year
*Worst Wrestler of the Year
*Tag Team of the Year
*Feud of the Year
*Match of the Year (For this category, PLEASE include the show/event that the match happened at so it can be properly accounted for)
*Commentator of the Year
*Worst Commentator of the Year
*Best Pay-Per-View
*Worst Pay-Per-View
*Moment of the Year
*Worst Segment (Moment) of the Year
*Promotion of the Year
*Television Show of the Year
*Most Improved Wrestler
*Biggest Wrestling News Story of the Year

*Best Blog Column of the Year
*Best Blog Writer (non-Scott Keith)
*Blog Commenter of the Year (This can be someone in the conversations or a Blog Writer)
*Most Loved Blog Topic (Something that created lots of great conversation here)
*Worst Blog Topic (Something you got sick of talking about and wished would go away)