The 2016 Doomie Awards

Last week the blog cast its votes for the top (and worst) wrestlers and moments of 2016.  The voting deadline has passed and all of the votes have been counted.  Remember, a first place vote was worth five points, a second place vote was worth three points, and a third place vote was worth one point.  In case of a tie, number of first place votes was used to break it.

I included the top three finishers for each category below, but if you wish to see the entire spreadsheet and how many first place, second place, and/or third place a choice received, go to this link:

Keep in mind that not all voters cast a ballot with three choices for each category and some voters did not vote for certain categories.  In all, though, we had a higher rate of participation this year, with fifty-three people casting ballots (versus thirty-two last year). Winners can be found below.

Wrestler of the Year

Winner: AJ Styles – 229 pts.
2nd: Kenny Omega – 34 pts.
3rd: Shinsuke Nakamura – 27 pts.

Women’s Wrestler of the Year

Winner: Charlotte – 171 pts.
2nd: Sasha Banks – 86 pts.
3rd: Asuka – 51 pts.

Worst Wrestler of the Year

Winner: Titus O’Neil – 64 pts.
2nd: Eva Marie – 45 pts.
3rd: Dana Brooke – 34 pts.

Tag Team of the Year

Winner: The Revival – 152 pts.
2nd: The New Day – 64 pts.
3rd: American Alpha – 56 pts.

Feud of the Year

Winner: AJ Styles vs. John Cena – 135 pts.
2nd: Charlotte vs. Sasha Banks – 56 pts.
3rd: Shinsuke Nakamura vs. Samoa Joe – 39 pts.

Match of the Year

Winner: The Revival vs. DIY (NXT: Toronto) – 86 pts.
2nd: Sami Zayn vs. Shinsuke Nakamura (NXT: Dallas) – 86 pts.
3rd: AJ Styles vs. John Cena (SummerSlam) – 74 pts.

**NOTE: The Revival vs. DIY wins due to receiving 12 first place votes versus 11 first place votes for Sami Zayn vs. Shinsuke Nakamura**

Best Pay-Per-View

Winner: NXT Takeover: Dallas – 106 pts.
2nd: Wrestle Kingdom 10 – 54 pts.
3rd: NXT Takeover: Toronto – 44 pts.

Worst Pay-Per-View

Winner: WrestleMania 32 – 143 pts.
2nd: Roadblock: End of the Line – 41 pts.
3rd: Hell in a Cell – 27 pts.

Moment of the Year

Winner: AJ Styles Debuts at the Royal Rumble – 82 pts.
2nd: Goldberg Squashes Brock Lesnar at the Survivor Series – 46 pts.
3rd: The Final Deletion – 23 pts.

Worst Segment

Winner: The Old Day – 51 pts.
2nd: The Undertaker vs. Shane McMahon at WrestleMania 32 – 23 pts.
3rd: Roman Reigns Wins the WWE Title from Triple H at WrestleMania 32 – 19 pts.

Promotion of the Year

Winner: NXT – 98 pts.
2nd: New Japan Pro Wrestling – 74 pts.
3rd: WWE – 65 pts.

TV Show of the Year

Winner: Smackdown Live! – 147 pts.
2nd: Cruiserweight Classic – 72 pts.
3rd: NXT – 67 pts.

Most Improved

Winner: The Miz – 110 pts.
2nd: Braun Strowman – 36 pts.
3rd: Alexa Bliss – 35 pts.

Biggest Wrestling News Story

Winner: WWE Splits the Brands Again – 72 pts.
2nd: TNA is Sued by Billy Corgan and Experiences Financial Problems – 42 pts.
3rd: WWE Raids New Japan Pro Wrestling’s Talent – 39 pts.

Blog Column of the Year

Winner: Observer Flashbacks (Scott Keith) – 129 pts.
2nd: WWE PPV Rants (Scott Keith) – 31 pts.
3rd: Daily Threads (Brian Bayless) – 20 pts.

Blog Poster of the Year

Winner: Brian Bayless – 39 pts.
2nd: Marv – 20 pts.
3rd: Comdukakis – 16 pts.

Most Loved Blog Topic

Winner: Observer Recaps – 36 pts.
2nd (tie): TNA’s Idiocy – 14 pts.
2nd (tie): 2016 Politics – 14 pts.

Worst Blog Topic

Winner: Roman Reigns is a Bad Wrestler – 50 pts.
2nd: 2016 Politics – 23pts.
3rd: Banned People Wanting Back – 15 pts.

And that concludes the 2016 Doomie Awards. Thanks to everyone that voted.